
Child Health Plus  (CHPlus)

Coverage for Newborns
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Change of Statute in New York

Chapter 31 of the Laws of 2015 as amended by Chapter 27 
of the Laws of 2016 provides coverage for newborns in the 
Child Health Plus (CHPlus) program effective the first day 
of the month of the child’s date of birth if the family 
applies for and is determined eligible within sixty (60) days 
of the child’s date of birth.  

2



Dates Child Health Plus Plan Enrollment Policy

Prior to the change in 
statute

All Child Health Plus enrollment is prospective based on the 15th day of the 
month rule.  

• An application received between the 1st and the 15th day of a month will 
be effective the first day of the following month. If the application is 
received after the 15th day of the month, coverage will not be effective 
until the first day of the subsequent month. 

• Newborns could have between a 15 and a 45 day delay in coverage 
depending on the date of the application.

Effective January 1, 2017 NY State of Health will provide Child Health Plus eligible newborns with 
CHPlus coverage effective as early as the first of the month in which they 
were born. 

• If the family applies for and is found eligible for coverage within 60 days of 
the newborn’s date of birth, the newborn is eligible to enroll effective the 
first day of the month of the date of birth.

• All other applications, including newborns that apply later than 60 days 
after the date of birth continue to be enrolled based on the 15th day of the 
month rule.
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Change of Statute in New York
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Change of Statute in New York

How Does the New Statute Impact Newborns? 
• Newborns who are eligible for CHPlus and who apply within the prescribed timeframe 

will no longer experience a gap in coverage.  As long as the family applies and the 
newborn is found eligible within 60 days of their birth, CHPlus eligibility will start on the 
first day of the month in which the baby was born.  

• The newborn will be automatically enrolled into the same plan that their siblings are 
currently enrolled in.  
o Plan selection will be required if there are no other children enrolled in CHPlus on 

an account.

• Consumers will be able to pick from a range of coverage start dates for their CHPlus
eligible newborn.
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Implementation

NY State of Health has been updated to allow CHPlus eligible newborns to enroll in a 
CHPlus plan retroactively.  

• If the newborn cannot be enrolled automatically a plan, the family must choose a plan 
and a coverage effective date for their CHPlus eligible newborn from a selection of 
dates.

 First of the month of the newborn’s birth month;
 First of the month after the newborn’s date of birth;
 First of the second month after the newborn’s date of birth; or
 Option to choose coverage effective date based on the 15th day of the month 

rule

What’s New
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Eligibility and Enrollment
CHPlus Eligibility: A CHPlus eligible newborn’s eligibility will always go back to the 1st of 
the month of the newborn’s date of birth, regardless of the enrollment start date chosen 
by the family.
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DOB Eligibility Enrollment Start Date 
Choices

Months of 
CHPlus
Coverage

2/16/2017 2/1/2017 – 1/31/2018
2/1/2017 – 1/31/2018 12
3/1/2017 – 1/31/2018 11
4/1/2017 – 1/31/2018 10
5/1/2017 – 1/31/2018 9

3. Number of months of CHPlus coverage 
depends on the enrollment start date that the 
family chooses.

2. CHPlus eligible newborns are allowed to 
choose from a selection of plan start dates.  
The plan end date will always be the same 
as the eligibility end date.  
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Eligibility and Enrollment

Please Note: If the newborn is temporarily eligible for CHPlus, documents are due starting 
from the date of the application, not from the retroactive eligibility date. 

 CHPlus Policy: If the family needs to provide the newborn’s SSN and does not 
update their application and provide the SSN within 90 days, the newborn will be 
dis-enrolled.
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1. The account holder must apply for coverage for their newborn and be found eligible within 60 
days of the newborn’s date of birth.

• There is no pre-enrollment.  The account holder cannot apply for coverage for the baby prior 
to the date of birth.

2. The account holder must mark “Yes” to the financial assistance question.  

3. The newborn must be eligible for CHPlus (subsidized or full-pay).
• Not eligible for Medicaid
• Must be a New York State resident
• No enrollment in other health insurance
• No access to or enrollment in a state health benefits program (NYSHIP)

4. Account holder must enroll the newborn in a CHPlus plan within 60 days of the newborn’s date of 
birth.  (60 calendar days – not necessarily 2 months)

• If the newborn is the only household member eligible for CHPlus, the family must select and enroll in a 
CHPlus health plan within 60 days of the newborn’s date of birth.

• If there are siblings currently enrolled in CHPlus, then the newborn will automatically be enrolled in the 
same plan as his/her siblings.  The account holder will need still to choose a coverage start date.

5. If the application for coverage is completed after 60 days of the newborn’s date of birth, or if the 
newborn is found eligible and a health plan was not selected within this time period, retroactive 
CHPlus enrollment will not be available.  

• In this scenario, the current “15th day of the month” rule applies.

How to Apply for the Newborn
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Premium Payments

If there is a premium contribution due, coverage will not be effectuated until the 
retroactive premiums are received by the health plan.

• Payment due will include the retroactive months plus the subsequent month of 
prospective coverage.

o If the consumer enrolls before the 15th day of the month, they will have until 
the 10th day of the following month to pay their premium contribution.  

o If the consumer enrolls after the 15th day of the month, they will have until the 
10th day of the subsequent month to pay their premium contribution.
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Simple Scenario…
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Example 1 – Sasha
Newborn with no siblings

Example:  Baby Sasha is born on 1/18/2017. There are no other children in this 
family.  The account holder applies for health insurance for Sasha on 3/16/2017 
and she is determined eligible for CHPlus with a $45 per month premium.  

1. The account holder applied within 60 days of Sasha’s birth and she is fully eligible for 
CHPlus.

2. Her eligibility is effective as of 1/1/2017 since she applied and was found eligible within 
60 days from her DOB. 

3. The family must select and enroll Sasha in a CHPlus plan by 3/19/2017 (60 days from 
DOB) in order to have Sasha’s CHPlus coverage backdated to her birth month.  

DOB: 1/18/2017
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DOB: 1/18/2017
Application Date: 3/16/2017

Example 1 – Sasha
Newborn with no siblings
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4.   The account holder proceeds to plan selection immediately and enrolls.  

5. The account holder will be given different coverage start dates to choose from:

• 1/1/2017 
• 2/1/2017 
• 3/1/2017 
• 4/1/2017 
• 5/1/2017

6. The account holder chooses 1/1/2017 as Sasha’s start date.  The family must now pay for 
premiums from January through April of $45/month or $180 total.  Since the enrollment 
was after the 15th day of the month, the premium is due by the tenth day of the 
subsequent month of the enrollment, 5/10/2017.  If payment is not made by 5/10/2017, 
coverage will not be effectuated by the health plan.  

7. Sasha’s continuous coverage eligibility will be from 1/1/2017 – 12/31/2017 as long as 
the premium is paid on time.  

DOB: 1/18/2017
Enrollment Date: 3/16/2017 

Example 1 – Sasha
Newborn with no siblings
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As always, be sure to click on 
“Confirm and Check Out”

$45.00

Example 1 – Sasha
Newborn with no siblings
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DOB: 1/18/2017
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What happens when there are 
siblings already enrolled in CHPlus?

More on New Functionality…
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Automatic Enrollment

Updates are being made to Marketplace in two (2) stages in order to automatically 
enroll CHPlus newborns retroactively.

• Through the end of January, some consumers may also receive a message asking them to call the 
Call Center for retroactive enrollment.

• At the end of January, these consumers will no longer receive the message asking them to call 
the Call Center.  
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Two Stages: 
1. Stage 1: If the newborn is auto-enrolled into the same plan as his/her siblings, the 

Marketplace will automatically enroll the newborn back to the first of the month of their 
date of birth.

• Example: Jenny is born on 1/5/2017.  The family applies for CHPlus for Jenny on 1/10/2017.  NY State of 
Health will automatically enroll Jenny in the same CHPlus plan that her siblings are already enrolled in.  Her 
automatic enrollment will be effective 1/1/2017.

2. Stage 2: At the end of January 2017, NY State of Health will update this functionality so 
that the newborn can still be automatically enrolled in the same plan as his/her siblings. 
However, the system will give the family a choice of enrollment start dates to select from.  
Choices will be the same as a newborn who in unable to be auto-enrolled.  

• Example: Jenny is born on 1/5/2017.  The family applies for CHPlus for Jenny on 3/1/2017.  NY State of 
Health will automatically enroll Jenny in the same CHPlus plan that her siblings are already enrolled.  The 
family will be given a selection of start dates to choose from.
o 1/1/2017 - First of the month of the newborn’s birth month;
o 2/1/2017 - First of the month after the newborn’s date of birth;
o 3/1/2017 - First of the second month after the newborn’s date of birth; or
o 4/1/2017 - Option to choose coverage effective date based on the 15th day of the month rule

Automatic Enrollment Functionality
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Example 2 –Micah
Newborn with CHPlus enrolled siblings

Example:  Baby Micah is born on 1/6/2017.  Micah has two (2) older sisters who are 
already enrolled in CHPlus.  The account holder updates their current NY State of 
Health application.  They add their newborn as a household member and apply for 
health insurance for Micah on 1/31/2017.  Micah is determined eligible for CHPlus
with a $15 per month premium.  
1. The account holder applied within 60 days from Micah’s date of birth and he is fully eligible for CHPlus.

2. His eligibility is effective 1/1/2017 since he applied and was found eligible within 60 days from his 
DOB. 

3. Stage 1: Remember, if the account holder applies for Micah toward the beginning of January, Micah 
will be automatically enrolled in the same CHPlus plan that his sisters are currently enrolled with and 
his coverage start date will automatically be retroactive to the first of the month of his DOB 
(1/1/2017).    

4. Stage 2: Since the account holder applied in the end of January, Micah will be presented with a set of 
coverage start dates for the family to choose from. 

• The family chooses a start date of 1/1/2017.

DOB: 1/6/2017
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5. The family must now pay for premiums for Micah for January and February before
coverage can begin. Since the family enrolls after the 15th day of the month, the
premium is due on the tenth day of the subsequent month of the enrollment, 3/10/2017.  

6.    Micah’s continuous coverage eligibility and CHPlus premium lock will be from
1/1/2017 – 12/31/2017.  

DOB: 1/6/2017
Enrollment Date: 1/31/2017

Example 2 –Micah
Newborn with CHPlus enrolled siblings
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More on Functionality Updates
In order to accommodate for the updated CHPlus newborn policy changes, some consumers will receive a message 
asking for them to call the Call Center.  

• This will only occur for a short period of time, approximately four (4) weeks until the end of January 2017.

• NYSDOH will also receive a report of these cases and will be working to manually update those accounts.  

• At the end of January, NY State of Health will have implemented additional functionality and consumers will 
no longer receive this message.  
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Example 3 – Chloe
Newborn with a sibling who has aged out.

Example:  Baby Chloe is born on 12/22/2016.  Chloe has an older sister, Emily, who 
was enrolled in CHPlus.  Emily turned 19 in December, and her CHPlus plan ended 
12/31/2016.  The account holder updates their current NY State of Health 
application on 1/12/2017.  They add their newborn as a household member and 
apply for health insurance for Chloe.  Chloe is determined eligible for CHPlus with a 
$45 per month premium.  

1. The account holder applied within 60 days from Chloe’s birth and she is fully eligible for 
CHPlus.

2. Her eligibility is effective as of 12/1/2016 since she applied and was found eligible within 
60 days from her DOB. 

3. The account holder will receive a message asking them to contact NY State of Health in 
order to enroll Chloe in CHPlus effective 12/1/2016.

DOB: 12/22/2016
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DOB: 12/22/2016
Needs enrollment to start on 12/1/2016

Turned 19 on 12/3/2016 

Was enrolled in CHPlus
through 12/31/2016 

October        November           December             January              February                March                  April May     

Example 3 – Chloe
Newborn with a sibling who has aged out.

Application updated 
1/12/2017 

NY State of Health needs to add the 
newborn to a terminated plan.  Due 
to this challenge, they need to call 
the Call Center.  
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December 1, 2016

DOB: 12/22/2016

Once the family calls, they will 
be able to enroll Chloe back 
to the first of the month of 
her DOB or choose a different  
enrollment start date. 

Example 3 – Chloe
Newborn with a sibling who has aged out.

23



24

Key Takeaways for Assistors
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1. The new policy states that NY State of Health will provide CHPlus eligible newborns with 
CHPlus coverage effective as early as the first of the month in which they were born as 
long as the family applies for and is found eligible for coverage (and enrolls in a plan) for 
the newborn within 60 days of the newborn’s date of birth. 

2. Families will be able to choose an enrollment start date for their CHPlus eligible 
newborn from a selection of dates.

3. CHPlus eligible newborns will be automatically enrolled in the same CHPlus plan as 
their siblings.

• At first, CHPlus eligible newborns will be auto-enrolled in the same plan as their siblings 
retroactive to the 1st of their birth month.  After we implement the change in the end of 
January, families will be able to choose their newborn’s start date from a selection of possible 
dates.

• At first, some consumers will get a message asking them to contact the Call Center in order to 
enroll in coverage.  At the end of January, they will not receive this message and they will be 
able to proceed to plan selection and enrollment.  

Key Takeaways for Assistors
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4. After the family completes enrollment for the newborn, the Assistor should remind the consumer 
that coverage will not be effectuated until the consumer pays the premium amount due. 

• The consumer should expect to receive a bill from the plan by mail.  

5. The Assistor can also help the consumer if they want to pay their bill prior to receiving it in the mail 
by printing or writing down the transaction identification number, date the enrollment was 
completed, and contact information
for the plan. In order to do this:

• Click on “Show More” to expand the window and print the information.  
• Highlight or circle the Transaction ID number for the consumer.  
• Highlight or circle the contact information for the plan.

Key Takeaways for Assistors
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If you have additional questions or if you would like to 
receive a copy of these slides, feel free to send an Email 
to: Assistor.Admin@Health.NY.Gov

mailto:Assistor.Admin@Health.NY.gov
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