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FAST FACTS
Enrollment Periods

Online at
nystateofhealth.ny.gov

By phone at
1-855-355-5777

TTY
1-800-662-1220

Visit an In-Person
Assistor

NY State of Health complies with
applicable Federal civil rights laws

and does not discriminate on the basis
of race, color, national origin, sex,

age or disability in its health programs
and activities.

There are many reasons to enroll in health insurance and NY State of
Health makes it easy to shop for and enroll in comprehensive, low cost
coverage. There are many health plans to choose from. You can get help
from a trained assistor. And, you may qualify for free coverage or for
help paying for your coverage.

NY State of Health is the place to shop for and enroll in Medicaid, Child
Health Plus, the Essential Plan, and Qualified Health Plans.

When you can enroll depends on which program you are eligible for, which
is based on age, income and other factors. Enrollment is open all year if you
are eligible for:

e Medicaid
¢ Child Health Plus

¢ Essential Plan

You can enroll in a Qualified Health Plan during the annual Open
Enrollment Period, or a Special Enrollment Period, if you are eligible.

American Indians and Alaskan Natives can enroll anytime during the year
for any NY State of Health program.

An Open Enrollment Period is a limited time of year - usually November
through January - when you can enroll in a Qualified Health Plan. If you do
not enroll during these months, you will need to wait until the next Open
Enrollment Period. There are some exceptions. You may be able to enroll

in a Qualified Health Plan outside the Open Enrollment Period if you are
eligible for a Special Enrollment Period.
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A Special Enrollment Period is when someone has a special life event
(called a "Qualifying Life Event”) that makes it possible for them to enroll
in or change their coverage through a Qualified Health Plan outside of the
Open Enrollment Period.

Qualifying Life Events include:

* Loss of health insurance (for reasons other than you did not
pay your premium)

* Apermanent move into New York State or a move within the State that
makes new health plans available to you (you must have had other
coverage within the past 60 days)

* Marriage or domestic partnership (you must have had other
coverage within the past 60 days)

* Divorce or legal separation
* Pregnancy certified by a health care practitioner
» Birth or adoption of a child, or placement of a child in foster care

* Becoming eligible or ineligible for help paying for your Qualified
Health Plan coverage

* Becoming a citizen, national or lawfully present individual
Generally, you must report a Qualifying Life Event to NY State of Health

within 60 days. You may need to provide proof of the Qualifying Life Event
to your new health plan or to NY State of Health.

r?;;:;:ea:fhealth.ny.gov There are three easy ways to find out if you are eligible for health coverage:
* Apply on-line at nystateofhealth.ny.gov

By phone at * Call the Customer Service Center at 1-855-355-5777

1-855-355-5777 * Meet with an in-person assistor

TTY

1-800-662-1220

We will walk you through the enrollment process, let you know

Visit an In-Person which program you are eligible for, and when you can enroll.
Assistor Assistance is available in whatever language you speak.
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