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On December 6, 2016, you had a telephone hearing with a Hearing Officer from 
the NYSOH Appeals Unit. The record was developed during the hearing and 
closed at the end of the proceeding.  
 
Findings of Fact 
 
A review of the record supports the following findings of fact: 
 

1) Your child was born on  
 

2) According to your NYSOH account, you expected to file your 2016 federal 
income tax return, with the tax status of Head of Household (with 
qualifying individual), and expected to claim your child as a dependent on 
that return. 

 
3) According to your February 3, 2016, March 16, 2016, and March 30, 2016 

NYSOH applications, your child’s father resides with you and your child. 
 

4) You testified that you were directed to include your child’s father in your 
child’s financial assistance applications by a navigator. However, your 
child’s father has never resided with you or your child. 
 

5) According to your March 16, 2016 NYSOH application, you were seeking 
help paying for medical bills from the last 3 months. 

 
6) You testified that you are seeking Medicaid coverage, for your child, for 

January 1, 2016 through April 30, 2016. 
 

7) According to Incident  in the Evidence Packet that was created 
in anticipation of your telephone hearing, “…requesting retro Medicaid for 
January 2016 for the child.” ( ). 

 
8) You testified that you have incurred approximately $1,000.00 in medical 

bills for your child and want Medicaid to cover those costs. 
 

9) On April 1, 2016, a letter from your employer was uploaded to your 
NYSOH account. The letter states that you were on maternity leave from 
January 20, 2016 through March 17, 2016, and did not earn any wages for 
that period ( ). 

 
10) You submitted a Compensation Report from your employer for the period 

of January 1, 2016 through March 31, 2016. You were issued: 
(a) $993.13 in adjusted gross earnings on January 15, 2016; 
(b) $939.13 in adjusted gross earnings on January 29, 2016; 
(c) PSP Non-Taxable $265.20, PSP Taxable $414.80 on March 11, 

2016; 
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(d) PSP Taxable $48.57 on March 11, 2016; 
(e) $236.25 in adjusted gross earnings on March 25, 2016; 

( ). 
 
Conflicting evidence, if any, was considered and found to be less credible than 
the evidence noted above. 
 
Applicable Law and Regulations 
 
Child Health Plus 
 
A child who meets the eligibility requirements for Child Health Plus (CHP) may be 
eligible to receive a subsidy payment if the child resides in a household with a 
household income at or below 400% of the federal poverty level (FPL) (New York 
Public Health Law (PHL) § 2511(2)(a)(iii)). To be eligible to enroll in CHP with 
subsidy payments, a child must not be “eligible for medical assistance”; that is, 
must not be eligible for Medicaid (NY Public Health Law § 2511(2)(b)).  

Medicaid- Newborn Child 

A child who is under one year of age is eligible for Medicaid if he or she meets 
the non-financial criteria and has a household modified adjusted gross income 
that falls at or below 223% of the FPL for the applicable family size. (42 CFR § 
435.118(c); New York Department of Health Administrative Directive 13 
OHIP/ADM-03). 
 
In an analysis of Medicaid eligibility, the determination is based on the FPL “for 
the applicable budget period used to determine an individual's eligibility” (42 CFR 
§ 435.4). On the date of your application, that was the 2016 FPL, which is 
$16,020.00 for a two-person household (81 Fed. Reg. 4036). 
 
Financial eligibility for Medicaid for applicants who are not currently receiving 
Medicaid benefits is based on current monthly household income and family size 
(42 CFR § 435.603(h)(1); State Plan Amendment (SPA) 13-0055-MM3, as 
approved March 19, 2014). 
 
Medicaid – Family Size 
   
"Family size" means the number of persons counted as members of an 
individual's household. The household of a taxpayer who expects to file a return, 
and does not expect to be claimed as a tax dependent by anyone else, consists 
of the taxpayer plus all people the taxpayer expects to claim as tax dependents 
(42 CFR § 435.603(f)(1)).  
 
In the case where a child, under the age of 19 or a full-time student under the 
age of 21, is claimed by one parent as a dependent and who is living with both 
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parents who are not filing a joint tax return (42 CFR § 435.603(f)(2)(ii)), the 
child’s family size includes, if living with the child: (1) the child’s parents, (2) the 
child’s spouse, (3) the child’s children and siblings under the age of 19, or 21 if a 
full-time student (42 CFR § 435.603(f)(3)). 
 
De Novo Review 
 
The NYSOH Appeals Unit must review each appeal de novo and “consider all 
relevant facts and evidence adduced during the appeals process” (45 CFR § 
155.535(f)). “De novo review means a review of an appeal without deference to 
prior decisions in the case” (45 CFR § 155.500). 
 
Medicaid Retroactive Coverage: 
 
NYSOH must make Medicaid eligibility effective no later than the third month 
before the month of application if the individual received medical services that 
would have been covered under Medicaid and would have been eligible for 
Medicaid at the time he received the services if they had applied (42 CFR 
435.915(a)). NYSOH may make eligibility effective for fee-for-service Medicaid 
on the first day of the month if an individual was eligible any time during that 
month (42 CFR 435.915(b)). 
 
Legal Analysis 
 
The issue under review is whether NYSOH properly determined that your infant 
child was conditionally eligible to enroll in a Child Health Plus plan as of February 
5, 2016. 
 
Determining an applicant’s eligibility for Child Health Plus or Medicaid is based 
on an applicant’s current monthly household income and family size.   
 
When calculating household size for a child who is living with both parents but 
only be claimed by one parent as a tax dependent, the household consists of the 
child, both parents and any siblings under the age of 19. On February 3, 2016, 
you attested that your child resided with you and your child’s father. 
Consequently, NYSOH determined your child’s eligibility using a three-person 
household. 
 
However, you testified that you were directed to include your child’s father in your 
child’s financial assistance applications by a navigator. However, you testified 
that your child’s father does not and has never resided with you or your child.  
 
The household of a taxpayer who expects to file a return, and does not expect to 
be claimed as a tax dependent by anyone else, consists of the taxpayer plus all 
people the taxpayer expects to claim as tax dependents. Your NYSOH account 
reflects that you expected to file your 2016 federal income tax return, with the tax 
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status of Head of Household (with qualifying individual), and expected to claim 
your child as your only dependent. Therefore, you were in a two-person hold. 
 
Based on your correct household size, your child would need to meet the non-
financial criteria and have an income no greater than 223% of the FPL, which is 
$2,978.00 per month. 
 
The evidence supports that you were on maternity leave from January 20, 2016 
through March 17, 2016, and did not earn any income in the month of February 
2016. Therefore, your household income in February 2016 is $0.00. 
 
Under New York State’s Public Health Law, a Medicaid-eligible child does not 
qualify to enroll in health insurance through Child Health Plus.  
 
Therefore, the February 5, 2016, eligibility determination notice stating that your 
child was conditionally eligible to enroll in Child Health Plus is RESCINDED. 
 
Your case is RETURNED to NYSOH to redetermine your infant child’s eligibility 
for financial assistance based on a two-person household with a February 2016 
household income of $0.00. 
 
The second issue under review is whether your child was eligible for retroactive 
Medicaid coverage for January 2016. 
 
The record does not contain a notice of eligibility determination or 
redetermination regarding the issue of whether or not you qualify for retroactive 
Medicaid for the month of January 2016. It does contain Incident , 
which demonstrates that on May 12, 2016, you contacted NYSOH to appeal your 
eligibility for retroactive Medicaid for the month of January 2016. 
 
Here, the lack of a notice of eligibility determination on the issue of retroactive 
Medicaid for the month of January 2016 does not prevent the Appeals Unit from 
reaching the merits of the case or constitute material error.  Under 45 CFR § 
155.505(b), you are as entitled to appeal NYSOH’s failure to timely issue a notice 
of eligibility determination as you are to appeal an adverse notice of eligibility 
determination.   
 
Since the Appeals Unit review of NYSOH determinations is performed on a de 
novo basis, no deference would have been granted to the notice of eligibility 
determination had it been issued. Therefore, the issue under review is whether 
you were properly denied retroactive Medicaid coverage for January 2016.  
 
Based on the analysis above, your household size for Medicaid purposes was 
two. The record reflects you expect to file your 2016 federal income tax return, 
with the tax status of Head of Household (with qualifying individual), and expect 
to claim your child as a dependent on that return. 
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Medicaid coverage can be made effective retroactively for up to three months 
prior to an individual’s initial application if they would have been eligible for 
Medicaid in those three months had they applied. 
 
The record supports that based on the financial assistance application that was 
submitted through NYSOH on March 16, 2016, you indicated that you were 
seeking help paying for medical bills for the last 3 months. 
 
A child who is under one year of age is eligible for Medicaid if he or she meets 
the non-financial criteria and has a household modified adjusted gross income 
that falls at or below 223% of the FPL for the applicable family size. 
 
On the date of your application, the FPL was $16,020.00 for a two-person 
household. Financial eligibility for Medicaid for applicants who are not currently 
receiving Medicaid benefits may be based on current monthly household income 
and family size. In order to be eligible for Medicaid a household of two must not 
exceed a monthly income limit of $2,978.00. 
 
On April 8, 2016, you uploaded your Compensation Report from your employer 
for the period of January 1, 2016 through March 31, 2016. The report 
demonstrates that you were issued ($993.13 (+) $939.13) $1,932.26 in adjusted 
gross earnings in January 2016. 
 
Since the record now contains an accurate representation of what your income 
was for the month of January 2016 your case is RETURNED to NYSOH to 
consider your request for retroactive Medicaid coverage for your child in January 
2016 based on a two-person household and a household income of $1,932.26 
for January 2016. 
 
Decision 
 
The February 5, 2016, eligibility determination notice stating that your child was 
conditionally eligible to enroll in Child Health Plus is RESCINDED. 
 
Your case is RETURNED to NYSOH to redetermine your infant child’s eligibility 
for financial assistance based on a two-person household with a February 2016 
household income of $0.00. 
 
Your case is RETURNED to NYSOH to consider your request for retroactive 
Medicaid coverage for your child in January 2016 based on a two-person 
household and a household income of $1,932.26 for January 2016. 
 
Effective Date of this Decision: February 22, 2017 
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How this Decision Affects Your Eligibility 
 
Your child was incorrectly determined conditionally eligible for Child Health Plus 
as of February 5, 2016. 
 
Your case is returned to NYSOH to redetermine your infant child’s eligibility for 
financial assistance based on a two-person household with a February 2016 
household income of $0.00. 
 
Your case is returned to NYSOH to determine your child’s eligibility for 
retroactive Medicaid for the month of January 2016 based on a two-person 
household with a monthly income of $1,932.26.  
 
NYSOH will issue a determination regarding your child’s eligibility for retroactive 
Medicaid for the month of January 2016. 
 
If You Disagree with this Decision (Appeal Rights) 
 
This Decision is final unless you submit an appeal request to U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services or bring a lawsuit under New York Civil Practice Law 
and Rules, Article 78. 
  
You may bring a lawsuit on any Appeals Unit decision in New York State court in 
accordance with Article 78 of the New York Civil Practice Law and Rules. This 
must be done within four months after the date of the Decision Date, which 
appears on the first page of this Decision. 
  
Additionally, Appeals Unit decisions on issues involving eligibility for qualified 
health plans, advance premium tax credits, and cost-sharing reductions may be 
appealed to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. This must be 
done within 30 days of the date of the Decision Date, which appears on the first 
page of this Decision (45 CFR § 155.520(c)). 
  
If you wish to be represented by an attorney in bringing an outside appeal and do 
not know how to go about getting one, you may contact legal resources available 
to you. You may, for example, contact the local County Bar Association, Legal 
Aid, or Legal Services. 
 
 
If You Have Questions about this Decision (Customer Service 
Resources):  
 
You can contact us in any of the following ways: 

 By calling the Customer Service Center at 1-855-355-5777 
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 By mail at: 

NY State of Health Appeals 
P.O. Box 11729 
Albany, NY 12211 

 By fax: 1-855-900-5557 
 
Summary 
 
The February 5, 2016, eligibility determination notice stating that your child was 
conditionally eligible to enroll in Child Health Plus is RESCINDED. 
 
Your child was incorrectly determined conditionally eligible for Child Health Plus 
as of February 5, 2016. 
 
Your case is returned to NYSOH to redetermine your infant child’s eligibility for 
financial assistance based on a two-person household with a February 2016 
household income of $0.00. 
 
Your case is returned to NYSOH to determine your child’s eligibility for 
retroactive Medicaid for the month of January 2016 based on a two-person 
household with a monthly income of $1,932.26.  
 
NYSOH will issue a determination regarding your child’s eligibility for retroactive 
Medicaid for the month of January 2016. 
 
 
Legal Authority 
 
We are sending you this notice in accordance with Code of Federal Regulation 
45 CFR § 155.545(a). 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 






