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hearing.  The record was developed during the hearing and closed at the end of 
the hearing. 
 
 
Findings of Fact 
 
A review of the record supports the following findings of fact: 
 

1) You testified that you expect to file your 2016 tax return with a tax filing 
status of head of household. You will claim your son as a dependent on 
that tax return. 
 

2) The application that was submitted on September 9, 2016 listed annual 
household income of $15,067.50.  You testified that this amount was 
correct. 
 

3) You testified that this income consisted of wages you earned from 
employment through August 11, 2016 and unemployment income you 
received after August 27, 2016. 
 

4) At the time of the September 9, 2016 application, your child was nine 
years old. 
 

5) Your application states, and you testified, that you will not be taking any 
deductions on your 2016 tax return. 
 

6) Your application states, and you testified, that you live in Rensselaer 
County. 
 

7) You testified that you would like your child to be eligible for Child Health 
Plus, and not Medicaid, as his doctors do not accept Medicaid. 
 

Conflicting evidence, if any, was considered and found to be less credible than 
the evidence noted above. 
 
 
Applicable Law and Regulations 
 
Medicaid for Children  
 
A child who is at least one year of age but younger than nineteen is eligible for 
Medicaid if he or she meets the non-financial criteria and has a household 
modified adjusted gross income that falls at or below 154% of the federal poverty 
level (FPL) for the applicable family size (42 CFR § 435.118(c); New York State 
Department of Social Services Administrative Directive 13 OHIP/ADM-03).  
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In the case of an individual who expects to file a tax return and does not expect 
to be claimed by another taxpayer, the household consists of the taxpayer and all 
persons whom such individual expects to claim as a tax dependent (42 CFR § 
435.603(f)(1). 
 
In an analysis of Medicaid eligibility, the determination is based on the FPL “for 
the applicable budget period used to determine an individual's eligibility” (42 CFR 
§ 435.4). On the date of your application, that was the 2016 FPL, which was 
$16,020.00 for a two-person household (81 Federal Register 4036).   
 
Child Health Plus 
 
A child who meets the eligibility requirements for Child Health Plus (CHP) may be 
eligible to receive a subsidy payment if the child resides in a household with a 
household income at or below 400% of the federal poverty level (FPL) (New York 
Public Health Law (PHL) § 2511(2)(a)(iii)). To be eligible to enroll in CHP with 
subsidy payments, a child must not be “eligible for medical assistance”; that is, 
must not be eligible for Medicaid (NY Public Health Law § 2511(2)(b)).  
 
 
Legal Analysis 
 
The issue under review is whether NYSOH properly determined that your child 
was eligible for Medicaid, effective October 1, 2016. 
 
According to the record, you expect to file your tax return for the 2016 tax year as 
head of household and claim your one child as a dependent. Therefore, your 
child is in a two-person household. 
 
On your September 9, 2016 application, you attested to an expected household 
income of $15,067.50. The application also stated that your child is nine years 
old. NYSOH relied upon this information. 
 
Medicaid can be provided through NYSOH to children between the ages of one 
and nineteen who meet the non-financial requirements and have a household 
modified adjusted gross income (MAGI) that is at or below 154% of the FPL for 
the applicable family size. Since $15,067.50 is 94.05% of the 2016 FPL for a two-
person household, NYSOH properly found your child to be eligible for Medicaid. 
 
You testified that you want your child enrolled in health coverage through Child 
Health Plus and not Medicaid. However, under New York State’s Public Health 
Law, a Medicaid-eligible child does not qualify to enroll in health insurance 
through Child Health Plus.  
 
Accordingly, the September 10, 2016 notice of eligibility determination that your 
child was eligible for Medicaid is correct and is AFFIRMED. 
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Decision 
 
The September 10, 2016 eligibility determination notice is AFFIRMED. 
 
 
Effective Date of this Decision: January 6, 2017 
 
 
How this Decision Affects Your Eligibility 
 
Your child remains eligible for Medicaid. 
 
 
If You Disagree with this Decision (Appeal Rights) 
 
This Decision is final unless you submit an appeal request to U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services or bring a lawsuit under New York Civil Practice Law 
and Rules, Article 78. 
  
You may bring a lawsuit on any Appeals Unit decision in New York State court in 
accordance with Article 78 of the New York Civil Practice Law and Rules. This 
must be done within four months of the Decision Date, which appears on the first 
page of this Decision. 
  
Additionally, Appeals Unit decisions on issues involving eligibility for qualified 
health plans, advance premium tax credits, and cost-sharing reductions may be 
appealed to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. This must be 
done within 30 days of the Decision Date, which appears on the first page of this 
Decision (45 CFR § 155.520(c)). 
  
If you wish to be represented by an attorney in bringing an outside appeal and do 
not know how to go about getting one, you may contact legal resources available 
to you. You may, for example, contact the local County Bar Association, Legal 
Aid, or Legal Services. 
 
 
If You Have Questions about this Decision (Customer Service 
Resources):  
 
You can contact us in any of the following ways: 

• By calling the Customer Service Center at 1-855-355-5777 

• By mail at: 
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NY State of Health Appeals 
P.O. Box 11729 
Albany, NY 12211 

• By fax: 1-855-900-5557 
 
 
Summary 
 
The September 10, 2016 eligibility determination notice is AFFIRMED. 
 
Your child remains eligible for Medicaid. 
 
 
Legal Authority 
 
We are sending you this notice in accordance with Code of Federal Regulation 
45 CFR § 155.545. 
 
  






